PREACHING TO THE CHIOR

Paradise Theater

Moderator: Andrew

PREACHING TO THE CHIOR

Postby yogi » Wed Jun 27, 2018 11:15 am

Yesterday I had to take my daughter to Dallas. On the way back I started playing the Mission CD. After the Greater Good played she said 'that Styx is OK but do you have any of their really good CDS'? She dug thru my center console and found my Styx Greatest Hits CD. I had not played it for years. Too Much Time On My Hands and Roboto skipped some, but DAMN thats a AWESOME CD. They were fuc .ing GREAT!

How they are not in the R&R Hall of Fame is a crime. What a variety of GREAT GREAT songs, with their albums being even BETTER!!

PSS- Does anyone know how many copies of their Greatest Hits album have been sold?
yogi
Stereo LP

Location: Carthage, Texas (FREE health care, housing, autos, gas, food, entertainment, FOR ALL!!)

Re: PREACHING TO THE CHIOR

Postby StyxGuy » Wed Jun 27, 2018 12:51 pm

Styx Greatest Hits was the first Styx CD (and really, the first album) I ever purchased!

It was certified Gold (500,000 copies) in 1998, Platinum (1 Million) in 2000 and 2x Platinum in 2005

Interestingly enough, the 1995 package was not the first Greatest Hits. In 1992, a Greatest Hits was released by A&M in Canada (it went Platinum in Canada which is 100,00 copies)
https://www.discogs.com/Styx-Greatest-H ... se/5570671

I'd love to get my hands on the Styx Radio Made Hits 1975-1991, it was a promo sampler, looks like copies are for sale :)

Also... Styx should consider re-certifying their albums to get new number counts :P
StyxGuy
LP

Postby Toph » Wed Jun 27, 2018 1:02 pm

Actually the first Greatest Hits is the A&M Classics (Vol 15) which was part of an A&M anniversary series. Its the purple album and was certified gold. Greatest Hits ('95) is well over 3x platinum now and vastly oversold the double CD set "Gold" which was released about 10+ years ago. The biggest crime on that one was to leave DLIE off. DDY had nothing to do with that one.